Book List

The following lists of publishers and books are provided as a convenience for the Stoa Arizona families. Stoa Arizona does not endorse, nor is it responsible for the content of the following resources.

Publishers who sell books and “sourcebooks” about speech and debate:

Ethos Debate      www.ethosdebate.com

Cog Debate          www.cogdebate.com

The Great Debate   http://www.greatdebate.net/

Dominate Debate  http://dominatedebate.com/dominateld

Monument Publishing    www.monumentpublishing.com

 

Speech and Debate Book List

Starting a Speech and Debate Club

It Takes a Parent: A Teaching Guide for the First Time Parent/Coach by Diana Stollar  and Coaching Policy Debate: Transitioning from a Debate Class to a Debate Club, by Terry, DEarnne, and Ryan Stollar information at: antithesis-debate@comcast.net;  The Homeschool Magazine Review: http://thehomeschoolmagazine.com/Homeschool_Reviews/reviews.php?rid=284

Team Policy Debate

An Introduction to Team Policy Debate, by Christy Shipe    www.hslda.org/bookstore

Argumentation and Debate: Taking the Next Step, by Christy Shipe      www.hslda.org/bookstore

Argumentation and Debate, by Austin J. Freeley   www.amazon.com

Lincoln Douglas Debate

Lincoln Douglas Value Debate Curriculum, by Rachel Welch and Brittany McGehee   www.valuedebate.com

Parli Debate
Art, Argument and Advocacy: Mastering Parlimentary Debate, by Shuster, Kate and Meany, John.

http://www.amazon.com/Art-Argument-Advocacy-Mastering-Parliamentary/dp/0970213077/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1336137436&sr=1-3

Speech Events
The Art of Apologetics – by Karen Kovaka http://iccinc.org/store/category.aspx?id=

The Art of Interpretation – by Nick Ellege http://iccinc.org/store/category.aspx?id=6

The Art of Platform Speaking – by Michele Hop http://iccinc.org/store/category.aspx?id=6

As I was Saying, by Thane Rehn – A Guide to the World of Competitive Speech (out of print

http://www.amazon.com/Saying-Guide-World-Competitive-Speech/dp/0972461221

Split Second Thinking, by Zac Floweree http://splitsecondthinking.com/  (impromptu)

Thorns Have Roses: A Resource for Impromptu Speaking, by Thomas Gowen

http://www.christianbook.com/-thorns-have-roses-resource-impromptu-speaking/thomas-gowen/pd/232771

The Extemporaneous Handbook, by Anna Crowson    www.filemakersolutions.com/books.htm